YOLO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES

April 22, 2021

The Yolo Local Agency Formation Commission met on the 22nd day of April 2021, at 9:00 a.m. via teleconference. Voting members present were Chair and Public Member Olin Woods, County Members Don Saylor and Gary Sandy, and City Members Tom Stallard and Norma Alcala. Others present were Alternate Public Member Richard DeLiberty, Executive Officer Christine Crawford, Clerk Terri Tuck, Analyst Mark Krummenacker, and Counsel Eric May.

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Woods called the Meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

<u>Item № 1</u> <u>Pledge</u>

Richard DeLiberty led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Item № 2 Roll Call Addition and the second state of the second st

PRESENT: Alcala, Sandy, Saylor, Stallard, Woods ABSENT: None

Item № 3 Public Comments

None.

CONSENT

Item № 4 Approve the LAFCo Meeting Minutes of March 25, 2021

Item № 5 Review and file Fiscal Year 2020/21 Third Quarter Financial Update

Item № 6 Correspondence

Minute Order 2021-13: The recommended actions were approved.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Stallard SECOND: Alcala AYES: Alcala, Sandy, Saylor, Stallard, Woods NOES: None ABSENT: None

PUBLIC HEARINGS

<u>Item № 7</u> Public Hearing to consider approval of Resolution 2021-03 adopting the Joint Powers Agency (JPA) Service Review for the Valley Clean Energy Alliance (VCEA) (LAFCo No. 21-02)

After an overview report by staff, the Chair opened the Public Hearing. Comments were made by Daniel Carson, VCE Chair, and Mitch Sears, VCE Interim General Manager. The Public Hearing was closed.

Minute Order 2021-14: The recommended action was approved, adopting **Resolution 2021-03** approving the Service Review for the Valley Clean Energy Alliance JPA.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Sandy SECOND: Saylor AYES: Alcala, Sandy, Saylor, Stallard, Woods NOES: None ABSENT: None

<u>Item № 8</u> <u>Consider adopting modifications to the Yolo LAFCo Deposit/Fee Schedule</u> <u>effective May 1, 2021</u>

After an overview report by staff, the Chair opened the Public Hearing. There were no comments and the Public Hearing was closed.

Minute Order 2021-15: The recommended action was approved. Additionally, staff was directed to add an explanation at the top of the schedule explaining how the deposit/fee process would be handled for applications.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Saylor SECOND: Stallard AYES: Alcala, Sandy, Saylor, Stallard, Woods NOES: None ABSENT: None

REGULAR

<u>Item № 9</u> Consider the status of broadband services and provide staff direction regarding LAFCo Shared Service initiatives for the FY 2021/22 Annual Work Plan

After an overview report by staff, the Chair opened the item for public comment. Speakers included Lee Gerney, the County's Chief Technology Officer, and Tara Thronson, Deputy to Supervisor Saylor.

Minute Order 2021-16: No action was taken on this item. Following discussion, staff was directed to:

• Include a section on the municipal service review checklist to monitor the progress of broadband within those jurisdictions being reviewed;

- Include a broadband section to the annual website transparency scorecard; and,
- Articulate overriding principles regarding broadband;
- Update the Commission on Assembly Member Aguiar-Curry's current assembly bill regarding reliable broadband service for all communities;
- Bring back the item for discussion and staff direction at the next meeting.

<u>Item № 10</u> <u>Consider and approve reappointment of Richard DeLiberty as the Alternate</u> <u>Public Member to another four-year term through May 2025</u>

Minute Order 2021-17: The recommended action was approved.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Stallard SECOND: Sandy AYES: Alcala, Sandy, Saylor, Stallard, Woods NOES: None ABSENT: None

<u>Item № 11</u> <u>Elect a Chair and Vice Chair to the Commission to serve one-year terms,</u> beginning May 1, 2021 and ending May 1, 2022

Minute Order 2020-18: Commissioner Woods was elected to another one year term as Chair, ending May 2022.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Saylor SECOND: Sandy AYES: Alcala, Sandy, Saylor, Stallard, Woods NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

Minute Order 2020-19: Commissioner Saylor was elected to a one year term as Vice Chair, ending May 2022.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Stallard SECOND: Alcala AYES: Alcala, Sandy, Saylor, Stallard, Woods NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

Item № 12 Executive Officer's Report

The Commission was given written reports of the Executive Officer's activities for the period of January 25 through March 19, 2021, and was verbally updated on recent events relevant to the Commission, including the Long Range Planning Calendar.

Staff mentioned that the deadline for responses to the request for proposals for independent professional auditing services is May 10, 2021.

Item № 13 Commissioner Reports

Commissioner Stallard commented that throughout the year the City of Woodland would be celebrating its 150th year of incorporation with special monthly events. Stallard stated there would be an outdoor street event around city hall on October 16, 2021, and everyone is welcome to attend.

Item № 14 Adjournment

Minute Order 2021-20: By order of the Chair, the meeting was adjourned at 10:37 a.m. to the next Regular LAFCo Meeting.



Olin Woods, Chair Local Agency Formation Commission County of Yolo, State of California